7801 Deercreek Club Rd., Jacksonville, FL 32256

March 31 is the deadline for license renewal

March 31 is the deadline for license renewal

March 31, the deadline for real estate license renewal, is nearly here. In Florida, your initial real estate license expires in 18 to 24 months from the date when you passed the state real estate exam. Check it out, the expiration date is located on the bottom of your license.

Before you renew your real estate license for the first time, you must complete and pass a state-approved 45-hour post-license curriculum that builds on the knowledge you acquired during the pre-licensing education courses. This is important because if you don’t complete the first-renewal post-license education by the expiration date, you will have to start over completely. You will have to retake the pre-license course, pass the exam, and retake the state exam.

One easy option that many new sales associates choose to fulfill their 45-hour post-license requirement is to enroll in Graduate Realtor Institute (GRI) 100 Series education classes. These classes help sales associates prepare for a successful real estate career. NEFAR offers these classes at several times throughout the year.

After the first post-license renewal period, real estate sales associates are required to take 14 hours of Florida Real Estate Commission (FREC)-approved continuing education (CE) classes during each two-year license renewal period for the duration of their real estate careers. These 14 hours consist of:

  • 3 hours of Core Law
  • 3 hours of Code of Ethics and Business Practices
  • 8 hours of specialty education.

The NEFAR Education Department offers all these CE classes free to members throughout the year. Check the calendar on NEFAR.com for more information.