7801 Deercreek Club Rd., Jacksonville, FL 32256

July 29, 2014

Staff Contact
Nancy Garcia, Government Affairs Director
Voice (904) 394-9138
Fax (904) 398-8025

2014 NEFAR President
Linda McMorrow
Voice (904) 626-9900

NEFAR Makes Endorsements For Local Political Races

JACKSONVILLE, Fla. - The Northeast Florida Association of Realtors' (NEFAR) Board of Directors has made candidate endorsements for the upcoming August elections.

Neptune and Jacksonville Beach
Richard Arthur was endorsed in his bid for reelection to the Neptune Beach City Council. "As an experienced Realtor, Richard Arthur understands the importance of homeownership and values the rights of property owners. He has demonstrated a commitment to serve the community and will continue to work to protect and improve the quality of life in Neptune Beach," said 2014 NEFAR President Linda McMorrow. In Jacksonville Beach races, NEFAR supports former Police Chief Bruce Thomason for Jacksonville Beach City Council, Seat 4, District 1. "As former Chief of Police, Bruce Thomason's public safety perspective will be an asset on the Jacksonville Beach City Council. He understands the needs of the entire community, residents and businesses, and will work hard for the betterment of all," said McMorrow. NEFAR is also supporting Realtor Lee Buck for Jacksonville Beach City Council, Seat 6, District 3. McMorrow says, "Lee’s dedication to the City of Jacksonville Beach is unprecedented and NEFAR is proud to support him."

St. Johns County Commission
Kim Kendall (District 2) was endorsed for the St. Johns County Commission race. "Kim Kendall is a proven leader; working on a range of issues to protect the quality of life in St. Johns County. An experienced business owner, he understands the importance of a vital real estate market to the economy and recognizes the value of homeownership to the community," said 2014 NEFAR President Linda McMorrow. John "Jay" Morris (District 4) was endorsed for reelection to the Commission District 4 Seat.

Clay County Races
Janice Kerekes (District 1), Tina Bullock (District 3), and Sandra Dunnavant (District 5) are NEFAR's choices for endorsement in the Clay County School Board race. "Janice Kerekes and Tina Bullock have both demonstrated an unyielding commitment to the students and the taxpayers of Clay County," said 2014 NEFAR President Linda McMorrow. "They are experienced leaders, willing to do the hard work necessary to improve and protect Clay County Schools." Sandra Dunnavant was endorsed for the District 5 Seat on the School Board. "Dunnavant is a proven leader; previously serving as Mayor of Green Cove Springs. She has an extensive career as an educator and is a force for positive change," says McMorrow. In other races, NEFAR endorsed Wayne Bolla for Clay County Commission District 2 and Gavin Rollins for the District 4 Seat on the County Commission.

Duval County School Board
NEFAR endorsed Scott Shine, District 2, and Paula Wright, District 4, in the upcoming election for Duval County School Board. "With a successful career in public relations and a long record of community involvement, Scott Shine will bring new energy and a positive perspective to Duval County Schools,"  said 2014 NEFAR President Linda McMorrow. "Four years ago NEFAR supported Paula Wright in her bid for the District 4 seat and her long list of accomplishments as a School Board Member proves we were right. Her work with parents and students is a shining example of her dedication to Duval County Schools."

Florida House District 15
Paul Renner is the choice for Florida House of Representatives, District 15. "Paul Renner is dedicated to promote job growth and improve quality of life in Northeast Florida. He understands how important a vital real estate market is to the economy and pledged to work toward policies to lower insurance premiums for all property owners," said NEFAR President Linda McMorrow. NEFAR is proud to endorse Paul Renner.

Florida Legislature
The following candidates were previously endorsed by NEFAR.
• Aaron Bean, Senate District 4
• John Thrasher, Senate District 6
• Janet Adkins, House District 11
• Lake Ray, House District 12
• Reggie Fullwood, House District 13
• Mia Jones, House District 14
• Charles McBurney, House District 16
• Ron "Doc" Renuart, House District 17
• Travis Cummings, House District 18
• Charles VanZant, House District 19

The Northeast Florida Association of Realtors provides professional development, political advocacy, professional standards administration, media relations, and promotional activities and exchange of information among its members. NEFAR serves as the voice for real estate in northeast Florida; serving the public through efforts to protect private property rights and community affairs programs. NEFAR is Northeast Florida's largest professional association, comprising more than 5,000 members working in all facets of the real estate industry, including residential and commercial sales as well as property management. The Northeast Florida Multiple Listing Service is a wholly owned subsidiary of NEFAR. NEFAR is headquartered in Jacksonville, with satellite Service Centers in Orange Park, Jacksonville Beach, Palatka and St. Augustine / World Golf Village area.

# # #